Next door to Wat Wisunalat, Wat Aham (Temple of the Opened Heart) is another sleepy temple that most tourists tend to bypass.
The sim was only constructed around 1820, but the site has been home to animist shrines since long before. The temple has spacious grounds graced by two large banyan trees wrapped with colourful ribbons that are believed to host the guardian spirits of Luang Prabang, Phu No and Nha No.
The main attraction here, aside from the peaceful, relatively untouristed grounds, are the murals on the walls and ceiling within the sim that depict the various stages of hell and torment; keep an eye out for the two demons sawing a sinner in half.
The temple’s roof shares its sloping, tiled style with many others, but is distinctive for its small carved dragons.